The Nature of Perception according
to the schools of Philosophy.

Every  system  of  Classical  Indian  Thought  has  expressed  its opinion  on  the  stages  and  nature  of  perception.  Most  systems accept  2  stages  in  the  perceptual  process.  Others  hold  that  it is  just  a  one-step  affair.  The  first  stage  is  called indeterminate  perception  (nirvikalpaka  pratyakSha)  and  the  second stage  is  called  determinate  perception  (savikalpaka  pratyakSha).

Here  is  the  line-up  of  the  various  systems  on  this  particular issue:


All  perception  where  any  real  knowledge  is  obtained  is,  by definition,  determinate.  Any  pre-relational  apprehension  does  not even  qualify  to  be  called  perception.  Hence,  perception  is always  determinate  (savikalpaka).  There  is  no  such  thing  as indeterminate  perception.


Perception  is,  by  definition,  indeterminate.  Perception  is  the pure  sensation  of  an  unique  individual  entity  devoid  of  its generic  correlation,  name  and  qualities.  Any  association  of  the unique  individual  entity  (vyakti)  with  a  class-essence  (jAti), name  (nAma)  etc.  is  a  subsequent  mental  construct  and  is  not an  innate  feature  (svalakShaNa)  of  that  entity.  Hence  the  only true  perception  is  indeterminate.  The  so-called  determinate perception,  since  it  is  a  subjective  interpretation  of  the initial  pure  cognition  (which  alone  reveals  the  thing-in-itself) is,  in  the  final  analysis,  false.

THE  "VEDIK"/Indian/Hindu  SYSTEMS:


Perception  takes  place  in  two  stages.  It  proceeds  from  the simple  to  the  complex.  The  initial  stage,  i.e.  indeterminate perception,  is  the  simple  and  bare  apprehension  of  an  entity without  the  knowledge  of  its  class-essence  (jAti)  and  attributes (guNa).  The  second  stage,  i.e.  determinate  perception,  is  the complex  and  concrete  comprehension  of  that  entity  together  with the  substance-attribute  relationship  (guNa-guNI  sambandha)  and  the universal-particular  relationship  (jAti-vyakti  sambandha).


Perception  takes  place  in  two  stages.  It  proceeds  from  the vague  complex  to  the  simple,  and  then  to  the  concrete  complex. The  initial  stage,  i.e.  indeterminate  perception,  is  the  vague apprehension  of  an  amorphous  mass  wherein  the  distinguishing features  of  an  entity  are  not  yet  comprehended.  The  second stage,  i.e.  determinate  perception,  is  itself  divided  into  two phases,  i.e.  the  analytic  and  the  synthetic.  In  the  analytic phase,  the  substance-attribute  and  the  universal-particular aspects  of  the  entity  are  clearly  distinguished  and  in  the synthetic  phase,  the  entity  is  cognized  as  an  integrated  whole with  reference  to  the  overall  context  and  circumstances.

5.  MIIMAAMSAA (smarta):

 Perception  takes  place  in  two  stages,  i.e.  the  indeterminate and  the  determinate.  Indeterminate  perception  is  the  immediate apprehension  of  an  object  together  with  its  generic  and specific  features  but  not  their  distinction.  It  is  also  devoid of  assimilation,  discrimination,  recollection  and  recognition.  In the  determinate  stage  of  perception,  the  generic  and  specific features  are  clearly  distinguished  together  with  the  other qualifying  properties  of  the  object.

Perception  takes  place  at  two  levels,  i.e.  the  indeterminate and  the  determinate.  Indeterminate  perception  is  devoid  of  all qualifications.  It  apprehends  neither  an  individual  object  nor its  qualities.  It  is  merely  the  apprehension  of  pure undifferentiated  Being  (sattAmAtra  sannikarSham).  This  is  absolute perception.  Determinate  perception  is  the  perception  of  objects together  with  their  attributes.  This  is  relative  perception which  is  ultimately  false  as  it  is  superimposed  (Aropita)  on the  one  and  true  perception,  i.e.  indeterminate  perception.


  Perception  takes  place  in  two  ways.  When  someone  perceives  an object  for  the  very  first  time,  this  is  called  indeterminate perception.  Here,  the  object  is  perceived  with  some  of  its qualities  such  as  its  generic  character  in  the  shape  of  a particular  configuration  of  its  parts  (samsthAna  vishiShTa guNAlambana)  etc.  But  there  is  no  recognition  (pratyAbhijn~A) that  this  generic  character  is  shared  with  other  members  of the  class  by  the  object  in  question.  The  determinate  stage  of perception  is  the  apprehension  of  the  object  from  the  second time  onwards.  Here  the  generic  characteristics  of  the  said object  are  recognized  as  being  shared  in  common  with  other members  of  that  class.


There  is  only  one  type  of  perception,  i.e.  determinate perception.  These  determinate  forms  are  of  8  types  where  the apprehension  of  an  object  is  either  qualified  by  the  substance, quality,  action,  name,  generality,  particularity,  inherence  or non-being.   Indeterminate  perception  described  by  the  other systems  is  just  fictional  as  there  are  no  such  things  as formless,  unqualified  or  non-relational  percepts.

back to Pramanam main page